White Ribbon, UNIFEM UK and UNISON

I’ve been looking at UNIFEM and the funding they give for White Ribbon Australia. I was surprised by the sight of Nicole Kidman doing some fundraising for White Ribbon recently!

Then I saw this on the UNIFEM UK web site ‘Men wanted! A call from UNIFEM’s National Committees‘ released in May 2007. So I thought it might be worth trying to approach them for money, or to have a formal agreement like the Australians. But Chris at White Ribbon UK assures me he has tried already and they don’t have any money available in the UK. However to have them as a major supporter and partner organisation would be very useful.

UNISON have just become a supporting organisation of WRC-UK and ordered 5000 ribbons from Chris. I should get in touch with UNISON Scotland to follow this up.

Leave a comment